Archive for July 27th, 2008

Rotini Salmon Salad

Posted on July 27, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Sunday, July 27, 2008–Last night I used the oven to bake a homemade pizza for supper (see my pizza recipe in this section…I added some summer squash to the pizza and it was very good) but I just didn’t feel like heating up the kitchen again today as it is about 100 degrees in Fort Worth. So after church Dawn and I agreed to try something different, something new. I knew I had a couple of cans of salmon and I had a little bit of Rotini pasta, plus a lot of fresh veggies. Sounds like a good salad to me! Here is my recipe for the Rotini Salmon Salad.

I had half a bag of regular white Rotini and about 1/3 of a box of whole wheat Rotini. I put these in a pan with boiling water and in about 10 minutes I had a half a pot of hot Rotini. I added some sea salt and olive oil when I was cooking it.

While the Rotini was boiling I minced 4 cloves of garlic, chopped up 4 radishes and a handful of baby carrots. I chopped about 1/3 of bright orange bell pepper, 2 green onions, half of a small summer squash, and added it all to the Rotini after draining the water off. I had a third of a can of Del Monte Fiesta Corn (I had used the rest in my Guacamole I made the other day) and so I tossed that in for good measure. I chopped up 1 good sized celery stalk and added that to the colorful mix.  I sprinkled in some Lemon Pepper seasoning and mixed in a lot of Miracle Whip Light, at least 1 cup (sorry…I seldom measure things; I just throw in what looks right!) I added two cans of Salmon, I think they were 6 oz cans, maybe 5.5.

Stir that all together and you get a very colorful, tasty, cool salad for lunch. I chopped a fresh tomato to add on our plates and had some black olives as well. I added more of the Lemon Pepper on my plate and next time I will add more to the salad. I went conservative since this is the first time I used that seasoning.

That was the main course, but I added some guacamole on a bed of cabbage (see my hot cajun guac recipe) and we had a tossed salad from the other day whose main ingredients were: Romaine Lettuce, Spinach, Kale and Cabbage with a liberal sprinkling of sunflower seeds.

This was a wonderful, cool and refreshing meal for a hot summer’s day.

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( 1 so far )

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...