Goulash

Posted on August 28, 2011. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

1Corinthians 10:31 “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

My mother used to cook goulash once in a while when I was growing up, but I do not have her recipe. So I did some studying at Allrecipes.com and looked at several different recipes for Hungarian Goulash, mixed and matched them and added a few things of my own and came up with a keeper. I’m not sure if what I came up with actually resembles real Hungarian Goulash or not…but it was sure tasty so here it goes:

I start with about 2 1/4 lbs of extra lean ground beef frying in a dutch oven.

While the ground beef is cooking  I start chopping my veggies. I begin with mincing most of a garlic bulb, 7-8 cloves.

I chopped up a couple of handfulls of baby carrots and a whole Red Bell pepper. I chopped up 3 celery stalks (and they were nice, dark green ones with plenty of leaves). Then I attacked 3 smallish Vidalia sweet onions.

By this time the meat was done (I had been flipping, cutting and stirring it in between chopping up the veggies) so I gradually added the veggies, carrots first (since they take a bit longer to cook), then the celery, red peppers, onion and garlic.

Next I start seasoning this mixture. Begin with about 1-2 teaspoons of salt,

1 teaspoon of black pepper

1 teaspoon of Marjoram

4-5 tablespoons of Paprika, the dominant spice in this dish

And I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper to make it extra spicy, but you can leave that out.

I added one stick of butter and melted that all around.

Then I added a can tomato soup and 1 can of diced tomatoes.

I added about 1/3 cup of barley flour and then a couple cups of water.

What you want is a thick, tomato based gravy with all these veggies, meat and spices mixed in.

Cook it down to the desired thickness and serve either on whole wheat egg noodles, whole wheat macaroni, or, you can do what most of the recipes called for, and cook about 5-6 mid sized potatoes, diced, in the mix. We chose the whole wheat egg noodles.

If you leave out the cayenne, you have a very nice, subtle dish with excellent, soft flavor. My added touch of cayenne gave it just a touch of heat.

Enjoy!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

