Southern Reuben Sandwich

Posted on June 18, 2011. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

There are lots of variations on the Reuben sandwich (which happens to be one of my favorite sandwiches!) and this past week I created one of my own (however, after doing this on my own I did research it and found it is certainly not unique). It’s summertime in Fort Worth, Texas and the temps have been over 100 all week long, so I wanted a cold sandwich.

Reubens are supposed to be a hot sandwich with the meat and cheese heated up on the griddle/grill/frying pan and the bread toasted a bit too, but I wanted something cool and refreshing. I had the kraut in the fridge but I also had some coleslaw. I was out of Rye bread but I did have one lonely sesame seed hamburger bun left over from a cookout.

I toasted the bun, then spread on some mild horseradish sauce. I had mixed up a small bowl of coleslaw using the Hidden Valley Ranch dressing while the buns were toasting. I spiced up the slaw (which I buy in a bag at the store) with some radishes that I sliced up nice and thin. Now I dumped the slaw on the botton bun and added two thick slices of corned beef and two thin slices of swiss cheese and slapped the top bun on.

While admittedly this was not the low calorie version of a sandwich, it was filling and very tasty, instantly becoming a favorite. Later in the week I made another one and added some green onions to the mix.

Enjoy!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Southern Reuben Sandwich”

RSS Feed for Mark12ministries’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

I’ve been on a sandwich kick lately, and that sounds so delicious!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

