Italian 4 Grain Pilaf

Posted on July 2, 2010. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

My family loves the Spanish Rice that I have been making for years, but today I wanted to experiment with that concept and came up with an Italian 4 Grain Pilaf that is a new favorite. I can no longer use straight rice, and we always use whole grain brown rice, due to my diabetes, so I use diabetic friendly grains like Groats, Barley, and Rye, with a little bit of Brown Rice mixed in.

Here is the recipe I came up with for the Italian 4 Grain Pilaf, which we enjoyed with a baked Cod and shrimp dinner.

First, I cut up the veggies:

I diced up about 5-6 baby carrots so that I had about 2/3 cup.

I diced and sliced about 2 cups of Kale.

1/2 of a   small Vidalia Sweet Onion, diced.

4 small cloves of Garlic minced.

I placed 1 stick of margarine into the big frying pan and got it melted and just starting to boil then threw in all the veggies to saute’. While the veggies were doing their thing, I gathered about 1/2 a cup each of Brown Rice, Rye, Groats and Barley and dumped that all in the frying pan with the veggies. I let that all cook up for a while, trying to brown the grain a bit, while I prepared some other things.

After about 10 min. of browning and stirring I added about 1/2 cup of frozen peas to the mix just for fun.

Next I seasoned the grain and veggies with1 teaspoon each of Thyme, Oregano, Worcestershire Sauce, and Soy Sauce. I sprinkled in just a tad bit of Cayenne Pepper, maybe  1/4 tsp. and the same of salt.

Next comes two cans of Chicken Broth, about 4 cups, and about 1 more cup of water (the extra water is really for cooking the Rye which is more chewy than the other grains and just plain needs more water and cooking).

I cooked it on the stove for about 1 hour.

The result was wonderful!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

