Mexican Lasagna

Posted on December 24, 2009. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

The Problem: I had made a big pot of my world class spaghetti sauce and we had eaten a lot of Rotini, I had made a big lasagna, and finished it off with a pan of manicotti. The sauce was all gone but now I had a significant amount of the cheese mixture left over from the lasagna and manicotti. It was not enough to do another box of manicotti and I was out of spaghetti sauce. What to do?

I knew I had several burrito sized tortillas and some picante sauce in the fridge, and I still had a lot of pepperoni and mushrooms left over from the Italian food….so I got creative and came up with a Mexican Lasagna that turned out fabulous and will now be a standard recipe.

I used a 10″ pie plate and covered the bottom in some mild picante sauce that had black beans and white corn mixed in with it. I added some medium hot Pace picante sauce to make it warmer. Next, I place a tortilla on top, then layered on the cheese mix from the lasagna. I added a layer of pepperoni and then a layer of mushrooms. That used up all the ‘shrooms.

I added two more layers of  tortilla and  cheese mix and pepperoni before topping it off with one last tortilla and a top layer of Pace Picante Sauce, medium.

I baked it in the oven for about 40 minutes.

It was outstanding! So good that I will do this on purpose and take it to a church fellowship next time.

Here is the link to my Hot and Spicy Lasagna recipe that has the instructions for the cheese mixture.

mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2008/07/11/hot-spicy-lasagna/

Next time I might try to add a layer of refried beans or even whole beans, or possibly some onions and olives. This is a very flexible recipe that you can experiment with all day long. Enjoy!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

