Braised Pork Chops

Posted on November 23, 2009. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Here is one of our all time favorite recipes! The Basic recipe came to my wife from our next door neighbor at Fort Lewis back in the early 1980’s. I have modified it some.

Start with a package of pork chops. I have used bone in and boneless, thin chops and thick. Tonight we used very thick, boneless chops that were superb. How thick? The small ones were 1″ thick and the biggest ones were 1 1/2″ thick. I used our electric skillet and cooked 6 of these lovelies.

The first thing I did was to start cooking the grain mixture. I used to use whole grain brown rice, but since becoming diabetic, and rice is bad for diabetics, I now use a mixture of grains.  I used 2/3 cup of Groats, 2/3 cup of pearled barley, and 2/3 cup of brown rice. Trust me, this is a very tasty combo! I boiled this grain in about 3 cups of water while I prepared and cooked the chops.

I put some coconut oil in the skillet and turned it on. I used about a half cup because I wanted a lot of the gravy. You can use as little oil or Pam as you want or, like me, use a lot to make more of the gravy.

I used about 2/3 cup of wholegrain Rye flour and about 1/2 cup of whole grain barley flour and poured that out on a plate. I added 1 tsp of Lowry’s Seasoned Salt, 1/2 tsp of Sage, 1/2 tsp of Black Pepper, and 1/2 tsp of Dry Mustard. I now stirred the flour and seasoning together until it was well mixed. You will want to cut the flour mix in half unless you want a lot of gravy like I did! I could have increased the seasonings some.

By now the oil is hot enough in the skillet so I get the pork chops out one by one and cover in the flour mixture and place in the hot electric skillet. After all 6 of the big chops are in the oil frying I turn to cut the veggies.

I cut up about 1/4 of a very large onion yielding about 1 1/2 cups of onion. I diced a couple of small celery stalks yielding about 1 cup of chopped celery. I chopped up 2 medium bella mushrooms.

You have to remember to turn the chops after about 4-5 minutes and cook them all over. The total cook time for these thick chops was about 17-20 minutes. I even turned them on to their sides to cook some since they were so thick. When I used thin chops the cook time was half.

When the chops were done I pulled them out of the oil and set them on a plate. Then I dumped in the onions and celery to fry. After just about 2-3 minutes I added the leftover flour mixture which soaked up all the oil. I now added about a quart of milk and stirred constantly for about 10-15 minutes until the gravy was just right. I had to add more milk along the way. I added the mushrooms now too.

Next I popped open a can of Campbell’s cream of celery and a can of cream of mushroom soup and mixed that into the gravy mix and stirred for a while until it was all mixed together.

I now added the pork chops back into the pan. I added several spoons of the grain mixture, probably about a cup and a half. I let the chops simmer in the gravy and grain for another 10 minutes and then they were ready to serve.

Along with the chops I fixed some boiled yellow squash with carrots and some leftovers from my Bar B Q Pinto Beans.

This meal is a bit labor intensive due to the gravy but it is worth it.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

