Breakfast Biscuit Sandwiches

Posted on September 26, 2009. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Biscuit sandwiches for breakfast have long been a favorite. But when you go to the fast food places they will feed you a very greasy, crumbly, white flour biscuit that does taste great, but may not be the best for you. Face it, a lot of our favorite breakfast foods are high in fat, and we love them. Well here is my favorite biscuit sandwich recipe:

First of all, until I figure out how to make good whole grain biscuits (i’m still experimenting) I use Grands Golden Wheat canned biscuits. I love Grands because they are on the large side which gives you more options for the breakfast sandwich. Smaller biscuits are great if you are just going to put on some butter, honey or jelly/jam/preserves, but for a good breakfast sandwich I use Grands.

With the Grands Golden Wheat you also have to keep in mind that they are not 100% whole wheat. The first ingredient listed is “enriched wheat flour” which means plain old white flour. The second ingredient listed is “Whole wheat flour”. Hence my quest to learn how I can make a whole grain biscuit that will get close enough to Grands in quality, but using only whole grains. The Grands Golden Wheat biscuits are also “reduced fat”, whatever that means (reduced from what level to what level? In comparison to other Grands biscuits?)

The first step in the process is gathering all of my ingredients and chopping the veggies. I set out on the counter the bacon, sausage, eggs, cheese slices, biscuit cans, milk ( I also was going to make gravy…but that recipe will wait another day), 1 small jalapeno, 1 green onion, one garlic clove, a bottle of basil, Lawry’s Seasoned Salt, and pepper.

I started frying the bacon in one pan and the sausage in the pan I would use for the gravy. When the meat was about done I turned on the oven for the biscuits, 375 degrees.

When the meat was done I pulled out the bacon and sausages, poured most of the bacon grease into the sausage pan, but left just enough in order to fry the eggs.

Now in my defense here, I might have fried eggs about once a month. Granted I do fry bacon or sausage 2-3 times a month so yeah, I probably eat too much of that.

In the one pan I start the gravy and after that is going well (about 15-20 minutes) then I put the biscuits in the oven. I used two cans of Grands this morning, 16 biscuits. I used the largest cookie sheet we have and they all fit nicely.

With the biscuits in the oven I am still stirring my gravy (made from whole wheat flour, barley flour and Rye flour) but now I can start the eggs.

I cracked the first egg into the frying bacon grease and stirred the yolk up just a bit, then added the Lawry’s seasoned salt, pepper, basil, jalapenos, green onions and garlic. While the first egg cooked, I cracked open the second egg and did it the same way. I folded both fried eggs so they would reasonably fit on a biscuit and then tossed them over.

I pulled the finished biscuits out of the oven at some point so, now that the eggs were done I made the sandwiches.

First I split open the 2 biscuits and put on a slice of cheese, then I put the hot eggs on the cheese and topped them off with 2 little sausages each. Finally I mounted the top half of each biscuit and…happy eating! With this recipe you could use the bacon or the flat sausage patties or even ham. I have taken these to work and eaten them a couple of hours later, using the microwave. They are not as good left over til the next day. Fried eggs just don’t store well.


Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

