Angels & Demons, Another Anti-Catholic, Offensive Story

Posted on May 4, 2009. Filed under: Book Reviews, Culture Matters, Movie Reviews |

Dan Brown and Ron Howard have teamed up with Tom Hanks to make yet another anti-Catholic movie that will make lots of money while promoting an anti-intellectual view of history and an anti-Christian view of religion.

Rarely will I ever write a review of a movie or book that I have not read or watched or even intend to read or watch. This is one of those times. I did read DAn Brown’s book, The Da Vinci Code and I watched the movie as well. The book was a fun, quick read. But what the book promotes is awful. From everything I have read, Angels&Demons is of the same ilk. See the story of the Angels & Demons controversy here:

www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film/film-news/5262555/Catholics-attack-Dan-Brown-film-Angels-and-Demons.html

news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090504/ap_on_en_mo/eu_italy_angels___demons

Notice that the title of the article is, “Catholics Attack Dan Brown Film” and not Ron Howard’s Film Attacks Catholics. WE HAVE ISLAM TAKING OVER EUROPE AND FOMENTING TERROR ALL AROUND THE GLOBE BUT HAVE NO MOVIES ABOUT THE ANTI-INTELLECTUAL BARBARIC MUSLIMS, BUT WE GET ANTI-CATHOLIC MOVIES LIKE THIS ?

Although Ron Howard defends his film and states that he thinks Catholics will enjoy it as an exciting  mystery, the story absolutely paints a picture of the Catholic Church as being anti-intellectual, power hungry and murderous. All of which are true in a limited extent historically, but the story is outlandish and draws an evil caricature of the Church.

My biggest problems with Dan Brown and The Da Vinci Code is that the book, though fiction, actually purports to be based upon some facts. When the book came out I ignored it because I do very little reading in that genre, but so many people asked me to read it, so many people came to me with theological and historical questions about the book, that I had to read it. Then, when th emovie came out my Youth Minister and I got the youth watching an excellent video curriculum that defended the faith and exposed the lies of the book. We then took the group of youth and young adults to watch the movie and discuss it later. That was very profitable. the older generation at the church didn’t think much of it, even though the view of history DAn Brown promotes is related to the Masonic Lodge view of history directly and most of that church’s older crowd were Masons.

The view of history promoted by Dan Brown and his books/movies is rooted in some Masonic ideas about hidden, secret (esoteric) knowledge of ancient mysteries that came from the Egyptians to the Jews and is passed down in a secret society from generation to generation. It includes such wonderful organizations as the Templars, Illuminati, Jesuits, Opus Dei and such. The story line is that Jesus really secretly married Mary Magdalene and had children by her and the Catholic Church was covering that up. Even a very respected secular historian, Bart Ehrman, tore up the Da Vinci code’s idea of history.

Without reading Angels & Demons I can safely assume the book and movie have a similar fantastic plot that takes gross liberties with history and denigrates the Catholic Church.

Don’t get me wrong, I am no defender of the Catholic Church. As a Baptist of the Reformed variety, I view much of Catholic teaching as heresy. That is a strong word and I used it intentionally. I still believe that many Catholics are born again Christians and expect to see quite a few of my Catholic friends in heaven. But as a student of history I absolutely disagree with how Brown and Howard are portraying the Catholics.

Get a life preacher, its just a novel and just a movie, don’t take it so seriously. Normally, I would treat this as just entertainment. But, when the book was making the rounds I cannot tell you how many people came to me with SERIOUS questions about the church and history and theology, based on the book. This tells me that people were taking the book seriously. When I read the book I saw that Brown was deliberately blurring the line between fiction and history.

I will not read Angels & Demons, nor see the movie in the theater. I might watch it on DVD or when it comes on TV, BUT I CANNOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE BECAUSE OF THE FALSE WORLDVIEW ESPOUSED BY BROWN/HOWARD.

Here is some updated information with links as of 05/15/09:

blog.christianitytoday.com/history/2009/05/httpamericamagazineorgblogentr.html

And here are two  excellent reviews by Baptist Press:

www.bpnews.net/BPnews.asp?ID=30529

www.bpnews.net/BPnews.asp?ID=30530

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

