Reuben Sandwich Plus

Posted on April 3, 2009. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Gen. 29:31 When the Lord saw that Leah was hated, he opened her womb, but Rachel was barren. 32 And Leah conceived and bore a son, and she called his name Reuben, [3] for she said, “Because the Lord has looked upon my affliction; for now my husband will love me.”

It has been a long time since I put out a favorite recipe, and I just finished one of my most recent favorite lunches: a Reuben sandwich. The basic Reuben is pretty simple, but I like to spice mine up a bit, so here we go:

I usually stick with dark Rye Bread. I love the rich flavor of Rye and it is a bit better for you diabetics out there than is regular whole wheat. Rye has a tad more protein than wheat and fiber too:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rye

www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=65

I will vary what I put on the Rye bread as far as condiments go. Sometimes I stick with Miracle Whip, light and mustard, sometimes I use a brown/spicy mustard or even a hoseradish mustard. Today I went with Thousand Island Salad Dressing like the original recipe calls for.

I started out just using corned beef, swiss cheese, and sauerkraut, pretty much the basic Reuben recipe. But now I have branched out into some more daring variations of this classic sandwich.

I have tried using Pepperjack Cheese and it works wonderfully on the Reuben, adding just a little “sizzle” to the “tang” of the kraut.

I also now always include some kind of onion on my Reuben. Sometimes a sweet onion, maybe a red onion, today it was green onions. Onions and the kraut are a perfect match.

Now for the kicker: green olives. If you have not tried green olives on a Reuben, you are missing out. The “Tang” of both the kraut and the olives perfectly complement each other.

Most places will grill their sandwiches with butter, but since I am taking this to work, I haven’t tried that yet. Maybe soon!

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reuben_sandwich

southernfood.about.com/od/cornedbeefandbrisket/r/bl30320n.htm

allrecipes.com/Recipe/Reuben-Sandwich-II-2/Detail.aspx

rowlandweb.com/reuben/history.asp

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Reuben Sandwich Plus”

RSS Feed for Mark12ministries’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

[…] mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2009/04/03/reuben-sandwich-plus/ […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

