Breakfast Quesadillas w/Spanish Rice

Posted on December 28, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Sunday, December 28, 2008– It seems like one of the best ways for me to come up with a new favorite recipe is to look around at my leftovers and figure out a way to use them in a creative way. Here is a breakfast dish I came up with that used leftovers from two dinners in the past week.

My brother came into town for Christmas on Monday so I wanted to fix him a warm meal after a cold day of driving. I made a Mexican feast with some tamales a Mexican friend at work sold me, some frozen Taquitos, but then I made a big pot of my Super Spanish Rice and my cajon guacamole:

mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2008/06/29/bryans-super-spanish-rice-and-the-blue-mesa-grill/

mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/walkers-hot-cajun-guacamole/

The Spanish rice makes a large pot full so I end up eating on it all week. I wanted to use some of this rice in some kind of an omelette this morning.

For Christmas we had a nice large ham and there are always a couple of weeks worth of leftovers that we get creative with, like with Dawn’s Hoppin’ John or Southwestern Split Pea and Ham Soup:

mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/dawns-hoppin-john-cooking-wgarlic/

mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2008/06/29/southwestern-split-pea-and-ham-soup/

So the idea was to make a Ham and Cheese Omelette with some Spanish Rice.

First I stirred up 3 eggs and added about a 1/4 cup of milk and poured that into the frying pan. I added some salt and pepper, threw in about a 1/4 tsp of fresh minced garlic and 1/2 tsp of finely chopped jalapeno, I added about 1/3 cup of ham bits, sprinkled some mild chedder cheese on top and let it cook. Just before it was ready to fold over I added a few tablespoons of the Spanish Rice mixture I was heating up on the other eye, but I just piled the rice on 1/2 of the omelette. (The Spanish Rice I make has whole grain brown rice, bacon, corn, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, carrots, onion, garlic, cayenne, cilantro- it is a meal by itself!) Finally I sprinkled some Texas Pete hot sauce, about a tsp all over the omelette.  Then I folded the omelette over and cut it in half to make it easier to handle.

I put a large burrito sized tortilla, with some of the cheddar cheese sprinkled on it, into the microwave for about 30 seconds, pulled it out and then placed the omelett halves on the tortilla and folded the tortilla over and then cut it in half.

Caution: the omelette retained its heat for quite a while, and, with the extra jalapeno and the Texas Pete, it was spicy hot as well- just like I like it. The net result was that I was sweating on the outside and burning on the inside. I had a bit of a chest cold so this was exactly the effect my body was needing!

Obviously if hot and spicy isn’t your thing you can back off of the jalapenos and hot sauce. Also, I ate the whole quesadilla which was a very full meal. Most folks would just want half.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

