Sin and Christian Preparedness-Survivalism Part 1- Clothing

Posted on December 25, 2008. Filed under: The Christian Survivalist |

I last looked at what the Bible has to say about Christian Preparedness by studying the Creation account in Gen.1-2 in a post titled, “Christian Preparedness/Survivalism Rooted in Creation”.  In that article I said that-

a Christian view of survivalism is rooted in the following doctrines and principles from God’s Word: 1)God being the sovereign creator, he owns, provides for and controls the universe- he looked at his creation and called it “very good”; 2)The Trinity, Father, Son and Holy Spirit; 3)The creation of man in the image of God; 4)Man being created as male and female, husband and wife with cildren being a blessing and command; 5)the Incarnation of Christ and his two natures, human and divine; 6)Life therefore is good and sacred and should be preserved; 7)Because all men are descendents of the first couple, all are “brothers” in some sense and there is no room for rascism in God’s creation, we are to live in community.

Today I want to begin to look at how sin affects the idea of Christian Survivalism. We will see several things in this series: 1) Adam’s sin led to the fall of the whole race, we are all corrupted by sin. 2) Adam’s sin brought about immediate scarcity; the abundance of the Garden was gone. 3) Because of God’s judgment on sin, Adam had to work harder and nature was against him. 4) Sin spread rapidly and grew worse and worse in Adam’s family. 5) There is hope in Christ. 6) Judgment Day is fast approaching.

I. Adam’s Sin Led to the Fall of the Whole Race, We Are All Corrupted By Sin

In Genesis 3 we read the following:

Now the serpent was more crafty than any other beast of the field that the Lord God had made.

He said to the woman, “Did God actually say, ‘You shall not eat of any tree in the garden’?” 2 And the woman said to the serpent, “We may eat of the fruit of the trees in the garden, 3 but God said, ‘You shall not eat of the fruit of the tree that is in the midst of the garden, neither shall you touch it, lest you die.’” 4 But the serpent said to the woman, “You will not surely die. 5 For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” 6 So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate, and she also gave some to her husband who was with her, and he ate. 7 Then the eyes of both were opened, and they knew that they were naked. And they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves loincloths.

8 And they heard the sound of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and the man and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the Lord God among the trees of the garden. 9 But the Lord God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?” 10 And he said, “I heard the sound of you in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked, and I hid myself.” 11 He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten of the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?” 12 The man said, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” 13 Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.”

www.gnpcb.org/esv/search/?q=Gen+3&src=esv.org

Adam and Eve were created in the image of God and neither one had a sin nature. The Garden of Eden provided all their food needs and Man had useful, creative work assigned to him by God to care for the Garden and to name (study) the animals. Man had a perfect relationship with his Creator and perfect harmony with nature in the Garden.

Sin wrecked all that. Evil came in the form of the serpent, Eve was deceived and Adam wilfully joined her in her disobedience and the effects were both immediate and long term. Immediately they recognized they were naked and that something about that was inappropriate. In 2:25 they were both naked and not ashamed but now in 3:7 they find out they are naked and begin to try to cover up the effects of sin by sewing fig leaves together.

The fact that they were naked and unashamed prior to sin tells me a few things. 1) There was nothing wrong with the naked human body in God’s original design, but sin brings shame and embarrassment to our nakedness. We instinctively seek to cover up our nakedness now. Moses uses the idea of nakedness and shame later on in the Pentateuch when God gives directions for the Priests to wear undergarments as they approach the altar so that their nakedness is not revealed (see Exodus 28:42ff). In Isaiah 20 the Lord commands him to go naked as a sign for three years. And Jesus was probably naked on the cross. In the Bible, from Gen 3 on, nakedness represents shame, poverty, being a captive or some other bad thing.

2) The original climate of the Garden was likely very stable and comfortable for its inhabitants who needed no clothes in their pure state. Sin changed that. Certainly there are places around the world, notably in the Tropics, where the natives go natural. Columbus discovered that as he found the Caribbean Islanders. But most places of the world experience a change in seasons requiring the wearing of clothes. While the main idea of God covering Adam and Eve with the skins of animals is to hide their shame, and secondarily it points to the fact that innocent animals had to die to cover up the human effects of sin thus pointing to the atoning sacrifice of Jesus for our sins later on, but I think a case can be made for there being a practical reason for God giving the couple clothing. They had to leave the Garden. Clothing became a necessity. When that first cold front blew through, Adam must have really missed the Garden!

3) Matthew 25 gives us the practical response to nakedness that is the point I am getting at-

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. 32 Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left. 34 Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36 I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ 37 Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? 38 And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? 39 And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ 40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, [6] you did it to me.’

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ 44 Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ 45 Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ 46 And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

What the Lord is saying here is that when we show mercy to those who are impoverished by clothing, feeding and visiting them, showing genuine hospitality, we are serving Christ, not just man. The genuine Christian will be generous as an act of worship to the Lord and love to his fellow man. Now we will deal with this passage in more depth much later in our studies of the biblical basis for Christian Preparedness/Survivalism, but right now I want to address the idea of clothing the naked.

Because of sin, and being kicked out of the Garden of Eden and now being exposed to the elements and a changing climate, and because of the shame of nakedness before God, we need clothing to survive. Have you thought much about survival clothing?

Here in Texas it is warm most of the year, but this winter is starting off with a bang! We are having a series of cold fronts that have us all wondering “What happened?” It snowed in Houston of all places. People down here don’t always think much about cold weather gear unless they work outside or are big outdoorsmen. What kind of clothing should we have to face what might come our way?

1) First of all, what might come our way. Algore and the wacky global warming tree huggers have got a lot of things wrong. First of all let me assure you that I am concerned about pollution (I have allergies, asthma, etc and cannot stand our bad air pollution days in the DFW area), urban sprawl (I am a hunter and there is less and less open land to hunt on) and the loss of the Rain Forests, etc. But this i snot what is causing global warming folks. One good volcano puts up more pollutants than all of man’s pollution put together. Global warmin is a natural phenomena that is caused by regular sun variations, the variances in the earth’s tilt and oribtal pattern, and the natural cycles in the world’s ocean currents. Climates change, weather happens, Ice Ages and warming periods (inter glacial ages) are natural. What is about to happen is more likely a global cooling since the Sun has gone into its cooling phase last year. The coolest summer on record just happened. Fall and winter are breaking all kinds of cold records. I think the best science available indicates that a time of cooling is coming. If man decides to have a nuclear war, global cooling will take place. If an asteroid hits, global cooling will occur. The bottom line is you better get some cold weather gear if you want to survive in a cooler climate.

2) Emergency clothing- putting aside the coming ice age for now ( 😉 what do you wear and carry with you when it is cold weather and you are going to work, church or visiting grandma? Everyday of the week I see people at work in cold weather who do not even bring a coat with them. Their reasoning is that they have thei car in the warm garage, they just have to face the cold from the car into the front door at work. 30 seconds of cold does not merit wearing a coat.

Granted, bundling up for the cold is a bother. But what if you have a flat tire in cold weather? or some other breakdown or emergency? I wear a suit or at least a sport coat and tie to church. But a suit coat is just for looks, it offers no real warmth. We drive 8 miles to church. What if I had a breakdown in cold weather? I started bringing my work coat complete with my gore text gloves and warm hat and balaclava, just in case.

Do you have any long underwear? I have three pair because I used to work outside all the time. I have a lightweight pair, a middle weight pair and an arctic pair. I hate the cold- got too cold a couple of times back in the Army. I have two different winter hats with fur on the inside and ear flaps, a couple of different balaclavas, and a cold/wet weather suit that sheds the water.

Boots are an essential in cold weather, but in Texas it is normal to see people wearing flip flops and sandals in the cold. Some of thta may be preference but a lot of it is because folks don’t own cold weather foot wear. I have pair of Rockies for all weather, a pair of Danner boots for work and all weather, and a pair of Brownings that are insulated for the cold. I have several pair of cold weather boot socks as well.

For a coat I have two that are notable. My company issued work coat sheds water a little bit and has a very warm liner that is removeable. Then I have an Army issued field jacket with hood and liner. This one is pretty big and bulky but would be essential for very cold weather.

In regards to the Matt. 25 passage I discussed briefly just above, I have held on to a couple of coats and jackets that are way too small for me now. If the Big Crisis or TEOTWAWKI comes, I will have a couple of coats to share with those less fortunate than I.

Being cold and wet is the worst of all worlds, so be sure to have some wet weather gear too. I have two ponchos, one would be for my wife if need be. And I have that cold/wet weather suit I mentioned a while ago. I have worn that suit while hunting a few times and it is a great help. But here in Texas I have seen lots of people out in the rain with no protection at all. Not a good plan.

As for outdoor/hunting clothes, I have a couple of pair of Army fatigues/BDUs. I have some blue jeans of course, and I do wear those while hunting some, but the Army BDUs are more useful with the oversized pockets.

Here are some websites for cold weather gear and hunting/military clothes.

www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/index/index-display.jsp?id=cat470090&navAction=jump&navCount=1&cmCat=MainCatcat470076&parentType=category&parentId=cat470076

www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/subcategory/subcategory.jsp?id=cat20570&navCount=0&parentId=cat20564&navAction=jump

www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/index/index-display.jsp?id=cat601728&navAction=jump&navCount=1&cmCat=MainCatcat470076&parentType=category&parentId=cat470076

www.rangerjoes.com/-c-100_103.html

www.rangerjoes.com/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=ACU&x=0&y=0

www.uscav.com/cat_450_tabid_1_Army_Combat_Uniforms

Well that was quite an application from that verse in Genesis 3 about Adam and Eve figuring out they were naked and making fig leaf coverings for themselves! I will pick back up with the effects of sin upon humans and how it impacts our need to be prepared to survive when tough times happen in my next posting.

Out here,

Equality 7-2521

viva le resistance!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

