Breakfast Crescents

Posted on November 8, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Saturday, November 8, 2008– This morning I got into a little experimentation in the kitchen and came up with a nice breakfast crescent sandwich. I have loved crescent rolls ever since I was a kid, but we usually only use them for special occasions like Thanksgiving or Christmas, and even then, rarely. Face it, crescent rolls are great tasting but not healthy. When Luke came home from Ft Bragg for a visit about a month ago we made a Thanksgiving meal since he won’t be around for the holidays and we had some crescent rolls. And a couple of times this year Dawn and I have used the crescent rolls for a dessert dish also on this blog, blueberry cheescake sopapillas.

mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2008/09/11/blueberry-cheescake-sopapillas/

So I have just been wondering about some other things I could use crescent rolls for, and this morning I used them this way:

First, I got a 1 lb package of Owens sausage, hot, and cut into 6 chunks and made 6 round patties and began frying them in the skillet.

Next I cut up the veggies I was going to use-

1/4 of a red onion, 3 large cloves of garlic, about 3 stalks of kale, a small handful of portabella mushroom pieces and stems, half of a jalepeno.

After the sausage was done I made a total of three, 2 egg omelettes, sprinkling in the veggies. I used the wrong pan to cook the sausages; instead of a non-stick pan I used a regular aluminum pan and my first omelette looked pretty rough…well all the omelettes looked a bit worse for wear.

I laid out the six crescent rolls on the cookie sheet while the oven was heating up, then I cut the sausage patties in half and put two halfs on each of three crescents. (by the way, these were the Pillsbury crescents that are 50% bigger than regular- you have to use th elarge crescents for this). Next I laid a slice of smokey sharp cheddar cheese on each crescent and I put the jalapenos on the one I was going to eat. Now I sliced the omelettes into  skinny halves so that they would fit on the crescents and laid them on top of the sausage and cheese. Finally, I put the other three crescent rolls on top of these three sandwiches and mashed the edges together to form something like a calzone.

I put these three sandwiches in the oven on 325 for 17 minutes and they were magnificent! They were just a little bit misshapen perhaps, but held together well. I did not try to eat it while holding it with my hands, it was too hot, so I used a fork. Very tasty! I really think the smokey sharp cheddar combined very well with the crescent roll flavor. I froze one of the sandwiches to see later how they hold up to the freezer.

www.pillsbury.com/products/rolls/Refrigerated/Crescents.htm

www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,175,158177-244203,00.html

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

