Steak & Chicken Quesadillas

Posted on October 27, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Monday, October 27, 2007– It has been a long time since I posted a recipe so here is the recipe I used at our Church Care Group fellowship last night. Steak and Chicken Quesadillas.

I used 16 of the large Burrito sized tortillas, 8 for the steak and 8 for the chicken.

I used  some frozen packs of fajita steak that were already seasoned and cooked, about a pound to a pound and a half of meat. 2 red bell peppers and 2 green bell peppers and a large red onion. Dawn sliced and chopped the peppers and onion up while the meat was cooking on the stove, then I added the veggies to the meat. I also cut up some big bella mushrooms and threw them in for some extra pizzaz. Each quesadilla had a GENEROUS portion of meat for both the steak and chicken quesadillas.

I got our pancake griddle out and put two of the tortillas on, but the tortillas were so big they were only half on but that worked out fine. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on the tortilla halfs and once it began to melt I added the cooked meat and veggies, then folded the tortillas over. Once I got that started I was able to do add a third tortilla, again with only half of it on the griddle, and this way I was cooking 3 at once.

I did not time how long to cook the tortillas on the griddle, but basically long enough for the cheese to melt and for both sides of the folded over quesadilla to get some lightly browned spots from the griddle.

I repeated this process with the chicken, but instead of using the frozen chicken fajita packets I usually use, I grilled several breasts on my gas grill outside. I seasoned with some bar-b-q rub and some cajun rub. When the chicken was done I sliced them up into bite sized pieces and pretty much had a full plate of chicken, about 1 1/2 pounds, same as the steak. Dawn was doing the hard work of chopping the onions and peppers while I grilled.

For the chicken quesadillas I used a mixture of monterrey jack and chedder cheese and did not add any mushrooms to the veggies and meat. Otherwise we cooked them up on the griddle just like the steak quesadillas. When each quesadilla was done I did chop them in half for easier handling, even then the folks at the fellowship thought they were kind of large.

I got the most comments on the grilled chicken quesadillas at the fellowship.

This was a fairly quick and simple meal that made way more than enough for the 13-14 of us, but there was a lot of other food there as well. Dawn and Jeremy and I have supper for the next two nights, that’s for sure.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quesadilla

www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1649,140186-243199,00.html

allrecipes.com/Recipes/World-Cuisine/Latin-America/Mexico/Appetizers/Quesadillas/ViewAll.aspx

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Steak & Chicken Quesadillas”

RSS Feed for Mark12ministries’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

Thanks for the recipe, Debbie cannot wait to try it out. How about that guacamole you talked about, any chance of posting that one?


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

