Archive for October 6th, 2008

Matt.3:13-17 Jesus’ Baptism- To Fulfill All Righteousness

Posted on October 6, 2008. Filed under: Redeemer Sermons Matthew |

Monday, October 6, 2008–I am now three weeks behind in my effort at posting my notes from Pastor Tim’s sermon series in Matthew. It’s bad enough that I post my sermon notes from when I was a pastor- so many of my sermon notes are just bare bones and are of doubtful help for anyone- but to post my notes that I take from our pastor…well, I am not the best note taker so I don’t know if this is beneficial for anyone other than me. But this goes back to my goals for this blog. I do want some of my writings to be a blessing for others who may stumble across this blog, but it is also to be a means of helping me with some spiritual discipline. Journaling is an old fashioned spiritual discipline and bloggin is a modern form. All that being said, here are the notes from Tim’s sermon from three weeks ago.

Matthew 3:13-17 “Jesus’ Baptism- To Fulfill All Righteousness”

I. To Show the Humility of Jesus– The very first act of Jesus’ public ministry is to humble himself. Though He knew no sin he submits to a baptism of repentance. He humbles himself before a man, John. John himself senses this is not right. “Let me be baptized by you!”

The world tells us what to do to be successful and gain notoriety. But Jesus leads us into humility. We struggle for humility. To follow Jesus is the way of humility and suffering. If you want to be great in his kingdom you must be servant of all. The Creator and Sovereign Monarch of the Universe washes our feet and serves us.

II. The Significance of His Baptism-vs.15- “Let it be so to fulfill all righteousness” John’s baptism was or repentance, so why does the perfect, sinless saviour get baptized? He is not repenting, he is fulfilling all righteousness. “It is fitting for us to fulfill…”Not just Jesus, but John also. Jesus here affirms John’s ministry and links himself to John. It will link John to Jesus too. It relieves John’s doubts- “Are you the One?” Jesus will be the sin bearer and the baptism of repentance will have efficacy. God showed Jesus to be anointed as Christ. A sign of God’s approval. A sign that Christ is willing to take on the role as our mediator.

III. vs.16 We See the Father’s Spiritual Provision for the Son- The Spirit descends and rests on Jesus equipping him to be our Redeemer. Jesus is completely dependent on the Holy Spirit just like we need to be. If we see Jesus depending on the Holy Spirit, how much more we need to be. He was always in intimate communion with the Father. We don’t need to always be trying to do things for God as much as we need to walk with Him.

We need not think we have the resources to minister. Every act of ministry is beyond our resources. What can we do to bind up the broken hearts of those around us? How much of my life is wood, hay and stubble? Including Study and preparation for ministry, teaching children, parents, etc. All requires our dependence on the Holy Spirit. It is so wrong to think we can do something with a little $$, planning, enthusiasm, etc. on our own.

IV. Heaven’s Declaration of Christ’s Identity- It tells us who the Son is and what he thinks of Jesus. My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased. Remember when we see the world hating Jesus in Matthew this is the beloved Son. The Father loves the Son. If you are in Christ, then the Father delights in you as he delights in the Son. God is for me, who can be against me!

We therefore cannot be apathetic to the words of Christ. He is the beloved Son. We cannot reject him. We cannot get to the Father apart from the Son. Sin is insane!

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

Turkey Tetrazzini

Posted on October 6, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Monday, October 6, 2008– Our youngest son, Luke, was home on leave from the Army the past couple of weeks as his unit is going to be leaving for Iraq soon and will miss the holidays. Dawn wanted to fix a Thanksgiving style dinner on Saturday, his last day at home for the next year+, so we had Turkey and dressing, greenbean casserole, sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce and a blackberry cobbler. He flew back to Ft. Bragg Sunday morning and we ate leftovers for Sunday dinner. But we still, joyfully, have leftover turkey. There are three things that we usually do with leftover turkey: sandwiches, turkey pot pie, and turkey tetrazzini. So today after work I set out to make our turkey tetrazzini because that is a fairly quick meal that will last us 3 days or so. We might do the pot pie next weekend.

I couldn’t find the recipe that we usually use, and I didn’t think I had all the ingredients. But I found another recipe that I could modify and here is what I ended up with:

I cooked about 1 lb. of spaghetti (1/4 of which was whole wheat spaghetti). I undercooked it just a little bit because it was going to bake with some sauce later and I don’t like limp, overcooked spaghetti. 😛

While the spaghetti was cooking I chopped up 5 cloves of garlic, 1 bell pepper, 1/4 of a large red onion, and 5 smallish portobella mushrooms. I saute’d the veggies in about 1/3 cup of margerine, adding the mushrooms last, then I threw in about pound of turkey cut up into small chunks of about 1/2″ square. I let that cook for a while then I opened 1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup (Healthy Choice) and 1 can of Tomato Soup. I added the soup to my saute’d veggies and turkey and stirred it constantly.

I went light with the seasoning: I only added about 1/2 tsp of Cayenne Pepper and maybe 1/2 tsp of Italian Seasoning. I had previously added salt to the water i boiled the noodles in so I added no salt here.

It looked a little thick so I added about 2/3 cup of Sour Cream Light, then I tossed in about 2/3 cup of cheese. I used an Italian mixture.

After letting this mixture cook for about 5 minutes I scooped some out and covered the bottom of the cake pan with the sauce/turkey mix, then I added a layer of spaghetti, followed by another layer of sauce, a second layer of noodles…I had a total of three layers topped with the sauce, but added a layer of cheese on top of that.

Baked it on 300 degrees for 20 minutes and it was some good eatin’.

What I should have done, Dawn reminded me, was chop up some black olives. I can’t believe I forgot to add olives! Oh well, Thanksgiving is just 6 weeks away! I also should have added some black pepper, and some more Italian seasoning. It would have been good with some carrots, but I was actually out of carrots, or some celery or maybe some green peas.

This is a fun way to use up that leftover Turkey!

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tetrazzini

southernfood.about.com/od/turkeycasserole/r/bl1123j.htm

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turkey_(bird)

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...