Southwestern Macaroni & Cheese Chicken

Posted on August 28, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

1Cor.10:31 “So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

Thursday, August 28, 2008– I will sometimes experiment in the kitchen by just using up some leftover odds and ends. Most of the time it is edible, but not memorable. Last night I had to fix a quick supper so I looked around at the odds and ends that needed to be used and I ended up with what I am calling Southwestern Macaroni&Cheese Chicken, a surprisingly tasty meal.

I had a pot with some chicken broth and 1 chicken thigh left over from a couple of other chicken dishes I had made recently, a box of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. and just a little bit of Pace Hot Picante Sauce. Here is what happened:

I heated the pot with the chicken and broth to boiling while I cut up a couple of handfuls of baby carrots, sliced and chopped about 1/4 of a red onion, minced 3 cloves of garlic and diced about 1/4 of Red Bell Pepper.

I scooped out about 2 or 2 1/2 cups of broth into a new pot and then poured in the box of macaroni once it returned to boiling. I added 1/4 cup of whole wheat mac that I always keep on hand. Then I threw in the veggies and about a half teaspoon of black pepper. I had a half can of Fiesta Corn and a half can of Kidney beans that I dumped in as well. I guessed right on the amount of water as I let it just boil down and cook the macaroni. Next I added the packet of dry cheese mix from the box and stirred in about 1/4 cup of butter and 1/3 cup of milk.

Now I chopped up the lonely chicken thigh and added it to the mac. Finally, in a flash of outright brilliance, I got the Pace Picante Sauce, Thick and Chunky, Hot, and stirred in the last 1/4 cup from the jar.

I cooked it over the stove on low for a while, stirring frequently, and in about 30 minutes I pronounced it done. But how would it taste?

This thrown together feast of leftovers rocked! It had just enough “Heat” to meet my approval, but not too hot for my wife. The mix of veggies was just right and the chicken broth with the little bit of chicken combined with the kidney beans was fantastic. All in all, this “experiment” worked well and I would even dare to take this to a Church fellowship.

Note: Those of you who may read my recipes frequently will notice that I add some standard veggies to most of the things I cook. Baby carrots are healthy and really do not alter the taste of anything you add them to. I use a lot of bell pepper, red and green, and I add garlic and onions to almost everything. You just can’t go wrong by adding extra veggies!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Southwestern Macaroni & Cheese Chicken”

RSS Feed for Mark12ministries’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

Your macaroni and cheese recipe is as generic as your politics. I’ll find another site for both.

Jack, thanks for the note! I have been called a lot of things through the years, but “generic” hardly fits. Now if I had used the Pace Mild Picante Sauce…that would have been “Generic”.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

