Can Certain Sins Be Genetic?

Posted on July 15, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Tuesday, July 15th, 2008– One thing that got me in trouble a while back was that I merely suggested the possibility that some people could be born homosexuals. That is how they were wired from birth; it was genetic. In that conversation I also clearly stated that I did not think that made any difference to me theologically because those born with that gene (if it exists) still had a choice about whether to act on it. I stated that, many times we see behavior in children that existed in their parents, both good and bad. You cannot imagine the uproar my comments made!

I am no scientist but it makes sense to me that some of our behavior may well be inherited through the genetic code, but a lot o four behavior, maybe even most, is learned behavior. I just do not see why the sin of Adam could not be passed down through the genetic code. Perhaps the fruit Adam and Eve ate from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil affected the genetic code. I do not know, but It sounds logical to me. Maybe science will one day enlighten us there, but perhaps they are doing that now.

While reading the news today I came across this article about violent behavior. Read the article and then tell me what you think:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20080714/hl_nm/delinquents_genes_dc

Now, if you are good and mad at me over this issue and think that I am straying into some kind of heresy… here are a couple more articles you ought to read. I don’t think the big issue is which sinful inclination we are born with, I have mine and you have yours, but rather, what we do with the sinful inclinations that we have.

http://www.albertmohler.com/blog_read.php?id=891

http://www.albertmohler.com/blog_read.php?id=90

http://www.slate.com/id/2158877/

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

