Hot Potato Salad

Posted on June 29, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Hot Potato Salad, Monday, January 28, 2008:

In the past couple of years I have begun experimenting with potato salad. Through many Baptist Church fellowships and cookouts, eating in lots of Bar-B-Q and fried chicken establishments, I have consumed about a 55 gal drum of potato salad in my life. I have had some bad potato salad, some boring potato salad, and a lot of good potato salad. I wanted to make a different kind of potato salad that was exciting. When I perfected this recipe this past summer, and dared take it to a UFC party with the guys at Craig’s house, it received rave reviews. Yesterday we had about 20 people over for a going away party for my son Luke who leaves for Fort Benning Tuesday for Basic Training, so I made a big pot of this Hot Potato Salad and grilled a bunch of burgers and dawgs, etc. Here is the recipe:

I boiled about 4 lbs of Red Butter Potatoes, and boiled 8 eggs with them. Remove the eggs and let them cool, then take off the shells and slice up the boiled eggs into about nickel sized pieces.

While the potatoes and eggs were boiling I chopped up 7-8 cloves of garlic (this amount of garlic was less than I prefered, but it kept the heat down for the guests). When I started mashing up the boiled potatoes I threw in the garlic.

I added about 1/3 to 1/2 of a jar of sweet pickle relish, chopped up two stalks of celery and added that, then cut up a medium red onion and added that to the mixture. Then I drained a can of corn and toss the corn in and add some salt and pepper and stir it all up.

Finally I added about a half a jar of miracle whip light in stages, stirring it all in, then giving it a taste test after each addition to see when it would be just right. As it was, I ran out of Miracle Whip right about when the salad was just right.

What makes this potato salad “hot” is all the garlic I put in plus the large amount of onion. I used to use regular yellow onions but the red onions really brighten up the salad and the onion, along with the celery, give it the crunch in every bite that offsets the otherwise smooth salad.

Option: when I make the potato salad just for my family, I will often use some black olives too. I slice them in half and add them to the mix. The bottom line with potato salad is that I take it as an opportunity to include a lot more vegetables in our diet and to spice it up so that it really stands out. I like my foods hotter than most folk, so adjust the garlic and onions to suit yourself. Here are some links:

http://www.npcspud.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potato

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=48

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

