Frozen Waffles Quick Breakfast Boost

Posted on June 29, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

February 17, 2008–Frozen Waffles Quick Breakfast Boost:

OK, you’re in a hurry because you are working 70 hours a week like I am the last couple of weeks (and for the forseeable future) and you don’t have time to make a really good breakfast, but neither do you want to just wolf down some Eggo frozen waffles as is. What can you do to spruce up Frozen Waffles?

We usually buy either the Nutri-Grain or the Blueberry (why can’t they combine those two?) because each of those is just a little bit better in the area of nutrition than the plain frozen waffles. But still, you want to add something that will get you going in the morning and give a better diet.

Every household ought to keep a bag of frozen blueberries buried in their freezer somewhere. Blueberries are one of those “Super-Foods” that are so packed with vitamins and extras that Superman himself eats them. I get about a 1/2 cup of blueberries piled high for my 4 waffles. I heat them up on low in the microwave for a few seconds while I am toasting the waffles.

Next I pull out our big bag of Walnuts from the fridge (another “Super-Food”) and get about another half cup piled high. I break the nuts up into smaller pieces for ease of eating. By now my waffles have popped up so I pull those hot puppies out and place on my plate. I DO NOT USE BUTTER OR MARGERINE ON MY WAFFLES. That is one key to making this a healthier breakfast. I place the walnuts and blueberries evenly over the 4 waffles, then reach for my Vermont Maid syrup or Log Cabin syrup (my two favorite kinds- other than real maple syrup) and pour liberally over the waffles (alright- this is the only unhealthy part of this breakfast, I know…). Next I sprinkle cinnamon very liberally all over this mess (Cinnamon too is a Super Spice- it can help lower blood pressure). Add a cup of coffee on the side and you are good to go (coffee too is now considered a healthy food).

What I have found is that if I eat the waffles alone, untreated, they disappear suddenly a couple of hour later and I am left very hungry before lunch. But by adding the walnuts and blueberries, that breakfast stays with you longer.

Recipe contents:

4 Eggo Nutri-Grain or Blueberry frozen Waffles

1/2-2/3 cup of walnuts

1/2-2/3 cup of frozen blueberries

1 tsp of cinnamon

1/3 cup of syrup

Enjoy!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

