Walker’s Hot Cajun Guacamole

Posted on June 28, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Weekly Recipe: Walker’s Hot Cajun Guacamole-January 10, 2008-

My parents are both from South Texas so I grew up eating a lot of Tex-Mex cuisine. I remember my mom making some guacamole once in a while, and I would try it, but it seemed a little bland to me, and combine that with the green color and the consistency of… well…needless to say a young boy and teenager will tend to make sick jokes about certain foods. As I grew up, got a job, and began to eat out once in a while, Mexican food was always high on my list, and there was the occasional guacamole set as a part of the basic nachos, fajitas, etc. Again, I would try it, but guacamole just seemed boring and almost tasteless to me. Then as I got middle aged I “heard” that avocado was high in fat or cholesterol, so I didn’t need to eat it anyway having high cholesterol already.

But then I ate at a restaurant in Fort Worth called Mi Cocina located at Hulen and I-30

http://localsearch.live.com/localsearch/details.aspx?lid=YN835x19394755&qt=yp&what=mi+cocina&where=Fort+Worth%2c+TX&s_cid=ansPhBkYp02

http://travel.yahoo.com/p-reviews-18876078R-prod-travelguide-action-read-ratings_and_reviews-i;_ylt=AqyD7fKbH6Mqv6nfxS70stq_FmoL

The guacamole was awesome, full of flavor and it was packing a little bit of heat with some jalapenos in the avocado mix. The next summer I was underemployed and had some spare time on my hands so I started experimenting with guacamole. I did some research on the web and have combined 3 different recipes to get the taste that my wife and I like. I also researched the nutrition of avocados and found out that the cholesterol is the good kind of cholesterol, the kind my doctor wants me to have more of. So here is my recipe for Walker’s Hot Guacamole:

Begin with 5-6 avocados, depending on their size, but make sure they are firm. The soft ones have too many brown bruises and bad spots. I slice them along their long axis, separate the halves and scoop out the seed. I then scoop out all the meat and place in a big bowl. I then chop up 5-6 cloves of garlic in very fine slices and set to the side because with garlic it is best to let it sit for a while after you chop it up.

I get my herbs and spices ready next: 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp of black pepper, 1/2 tsp of cilantro, 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of thyme, 1/4 tsp of cumin, 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and stir all that in with the avocado, mashing the avocado up but leaving some chunks.

Now I do some serious veggie chopping. I cut up 2 green onions, about 1/2 of a red or orange bell pepper (chopped very fine), and about 10 cherry tomatoes quartered. Here is the tricky part: I love to add jalapeño to my guacamole but these days you don’t have any idea what you are getting when you buy a jalapeno. It could be a mild, medium or very hot jalapeno. Since I have already added the 1/4 tsp of cayenne, you really don’t want to add a whole hot jalapeno. I did that not long ago and we ended up going back to the store for another two avocados to balance it out because it was to darn hot for me (and I can eat some serious heat). So here is the plan: you can wait to add the cayenne til after you have tasted the jalapeno, or you can add just a little bit of the hot pepper if you taste test it and you got a hot one. But, if the pepper is mild, it really does add flavor to the dish. Chop the jalapeno very small.

Two more ingredients and you will be done. Add a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice to help preserve it; and then a couple of heaping tablespoons of Miracle Whip Light. Stir it all in real good and chill for a couple of hours (well…I always taste one spoonfull after stirring so I get an idea of how good it is.)

But now you have to decide how you want to eat the guacamole. Obviously you can use the classic tortilla chips, and Tostitos are my chip of choice. But, I am now going with some Blue Corn tortilla chips made by Tostitos and I love the subtle flavor difference. The guacamole goes good with fajitas and tacos, burritos and nachos, taquitos and just plain as a salad on a bed of red cabbage. My wife experimented by putting some guacamole on a sandwich with some cajun turkey we got at Wal Mart, it makes the sandwich come alive!

I took this guacamole to a couple of church fellowships and parties (even to a Christmas party- hey, it has red and green, Christmas colors!) and folks loved it. It was a little bit hot for some, this is not for the faint of heart, but the guys loved it. Dawn and I are now addicted to guacamole.

Here is some nutritional information on avocados:

http://www.avocado.org/healthy_living/nutrition.php

http://www.avocado.org/about/avocado_history.php

http://whfoods.org/genpage.php?dbid=5&tname=foodspice

And since the only unnatural ingredient I use is the Miracle Whip-Light, here is the nutritional information for Kraft Miracle Whip- Light:

http://www.thedailyplate.com/nutrition-calories/food/kraft/miracle-whip-light-16-fl-oz.

June 28, 2008- I have added some new elements to the guacamole in recent months. I now add 1/4 tsp of chipotle chili pepper, a half can of Fiesta Corn, and about 1/3 to 1/2 of a cucumber.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Walker’s Hot Cajun Guacamole”

RSS Feed for Mark12ministries’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

[…] mark12ministries.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/walkers-hot-cajun-guacamole/ […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

