Tuna Salad Sandwich

Posted on June 28, 2008. Filed under: Favorite Recipes |

Tuna Salad Sandwich:

Tuesday, January 1, 2008– Happy New Year!– Today as I am at work I have one of my favorite sandwiches prepared for lunch- Tuna salad. I am going to share my tuna salad recipe and walk you through the construction of my”famous Dagwood Sandwiches”. The folks at work kid me about my sandwiches because they are so huge. I call them Dagwood sandwiches because of the cartoon Blondie in the comics section of the newspaper that I read growing up. Blondie’s husband, Dagwood, would frequently go to the refrigerator and make these huge sandwiches out of everything he found in the fridge.

OK, let’s start with the basic Tuna Salad first:

We use 4-5 cans of Starkist, low sodium, packed in water tuna placed into a tupperware bowl and broken up into small pieces. I boil 3-4 eggs then cut them up and add to the tuna. I chop up about a quarter of a red onion, or in this case, since I was out of red onion I used two large green onions. I take about a half of a large stalk of celery and split it, then split the halves. I then chop this quartered half stalk of celery into small slices to add a nice crunch to the tuna. I next chop up a half of a red or orange bell pepper into slightly bigger chunks than the celery and toss that in to the mix. I take 3-4 cloves of garlic and finely chop them and add. I will occasionaly add about a half can of corn to my tuna salad as well. Next, I scoop out about a cup of sweet pickle relish. I add about a teaspoon of black pepper and finish it off with 3 heaping tablespoons of Miracle Whip-light. Stir all that together until well mixed and you have got yourself some super Tuna Salad.

This Tuna Salad will go great as a main dish for supper on a bed of Red Cabbage (see my articles on Red Cabbage below), or, what I usually do is make sandwiches. Here is my sandwich recipe:

I use two slices of the big whole grain bread from Orowheat. Bread is one thing I am kind of particular about. We have used Orowheat for many years and I just don’t care for any other brands. It is more expensive than most other brands, but the slices are bigger and I think the bread is better tasting and more nutritious. I rarely use white bread for anything, but the Orowheat Country Potato is perfect for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I also almost always toast my sandwich bread to help the sandwich from getting soggy in my lunch kit during the work day.

I will liberally apply some condiments like Miracle Whip-Light, yellow mustard, brown mustard, honey-mustard, or in today’s sandwich, horseradish-mustard, my favorite. I then pile on the tuna so that when you bite into the sandwich the tuna oozes out the side. I add some sliced black olives on top of the tuna, mashing them in so they don’t roll out. I then top it with some cheese, Swiss, smoked chedder, or in today’s sandwich, pepperjack.

Now on the other slice of bread (and you thought I was finished…) I add some chopped Red Cabbage (I now ALWAYS use Red Cabbage on my sandwiches instead of lettuce. My doctor told me years ago that lettuce has zero food value and that cabbage is loaded with vitamins), a slice of tomato, and finish it off with some baby leaf spinach (again, the spinach is one of those superfoods, loaded with vitamins as a dark leafy veggie).

The tricky part is putting the loaded sandwich halves together. I will pick up the half that has the tuna and cheese as it has a higher probability of staying together (watch out for the olives though) and quickly plop it down on the other half and mash it together a little bit. I now wrestle it into a quart sized plastic baggy (the regular sandwich baggies are too small for the Orowheat bread), load into my lunch box and I am good to go.

This morning I made two sandwiches, one with smoked chedder and the other with pepper jack. I frequently give away one sandwich to a co-worker. One guy at work, after he had eaten a couple of my dagwood sandwiches, started paying me $5 per sandwich and told me I ought to open a deli!

I actually got the idea for my Dagwood Sandwiches from eating at Subway so much. Subway is one of my favorite places to eat but we cannot afford to eat out anymore so I started making my own. I have not done a cost analysis of my sandwiches yet, but I think I ought to so that I can compare my costs with Subway.

I have no idea of how many calories one of these sandwiches has, but here is a summary of the good stuff:

Tuna- a great high protein sea food with omega-3 oils that benefit the heart and help reduce cholesterol

Whole grain bread- high in fiber

Veggies- Bell Pepper, Green or red Onion, Garlic, Celery, Black Olives, Tomato, Spinach, Red Cabbage, corn

Cheese- admittedly high in fat, but cheese is my only dairy intake most days.

Condiments- Miracle Whip Light, Horseradish Mustard, black pepper.

The physical appearance of this sandwich is very appealing. First of all it is imposing by its sheer size. But, secondly, with the toasted brown wheat bread, the dark green spinach, the juicy red tomato showing its edge, and the dark purple cabbage poking out, this sandwich is a a beauty to behold! Too bad I don’t have a digital camera and the means to post pictures!

Here are some links and facts on Tuna:

http://www.tunafacts.com/healthbenefits/index.html

Tuna, an excellent source of lean protein, vitamins and minerals, is a wonderful way to excite the palate while maintaining a balanced diet. However, tuna has more to offer than just great taste and nutrition. Tuna can also help lower blood pressure and cholesterol. Research has shown that omega-3 fatty acids – found in abundance in fatty fish like tuna – can help lower the risk of heart disease, ease the pain of arthritis, reduce asthma complications, and is essential in the growth and development of young children.

The overall benefits of fish, especially those high in omega-3 and lean protein like canned tuna, have never been more apparent. In fact, the American Heart Association recommends that people eat “at least 2 servings of fish per week” for its cardio benefits. Omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids have been shown to reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease. Additionally, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005, released in January, recommend two eight-ounce servings a week of foods rich in the omega-3 fatty acids EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) and DHA (docosahexaenoic acid), such as canned tuna. The American Dietetic Association goes as far as to say that canned tuna may “become known as a basic ingredient in healthful eating plans.”

Tuna adds variety to low fat, low cholesterol menus and is the perfect addition to a healthy, balanced diet. Tuna is a rich source of the nutrients that are essential to healthy and balanced diets and have protective and therapeutic effects on our health. Canned tuna not only provides a rich source of lean protein, omega-3 fatty acids, vitamins and minerals, but also is low in saturated fats and cholesterol.

http://www.oceansalive.org/eat.cfm?subnav=fishpage&group=Tuna

Canned white tuna consists of albacore; canned light is usually skipjack tuna but can also be yellowfin. Yellowfin and bigeye are commonly sold as fresh or frozen steaks. Yellowfin, bigeye and bluefin are favorites for sushi and sashimi.Some types of tuna are high in mercury – a serious health risk for kids and women of childbearing age. Avoid bluefin tuna since it’s both high in mercury and is being depleted by overfishing. When buying canned tuna, choose ‘light’ skipjack tuna over ‘white’ albacore tuna. Not only does ‘light’ have three times less mercury, it’s less expensive too.

Tuna is heavily fished because of its popularity, but albacore, bigeye, yellowfin and skipjack are resilient as they reach sexual maturity quickly and produce millions of eggs. Bluefin tuna, on the other hand, takes longer to reproduce and is prized in the high-value sushi market. As a result, they are severely depleted across most of their range.

http://www.starkist.com/template.asp?section=recipe.asp&pageNum=6

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

