The Archeologist and the Manger

Posted on December 23, 2007. Filed under: Daily Journey |

Sunday, December 23, 2007– When I was growing up I frequently fantasized about various professions I wanted to have as an adult. Certainly the dominant daydream was to be a soldier, and that dream was fulfilled for about 8 years. Another dream was to be an astronaut for I grew up watching the Mercury, Gemini and Apollo programs. To this day I read the space news, follow the various NASA missions and read Science Fiction voraciously. Yet another fantasy was to be President, and to this day, as anyone who reads this blog knows, I have a love for politics. But one other dream that I had off and on was to become an archaeologist. Perhaps it was my father bringing home the occasional Indian arrowhead for me from his work on a seismograph crew; or maybe it was all the National Geographic Specials I watched as a child. But more than likely it was all the Sunday School lessons that included pictures of places from the Bible days. Whatever the source, I have always been fascinated by the Indiana Jones’ of this world. I even subscribed to Biblical Archeology Review for a few years (until they got way too political for me).

What has any of this to do with Christmas and the manger? I read an interesting article from the Baptist Press about archeology and Christmas this morning and thought I would give you the link. The gist of the article is that while there may be no archaeological evidence for the birth of Jesus, there is plenty of evidence for the life of king Herod and the overall social makeup of the society into which Jesus was born. I thought this article would be a good follow up to the previous article on astronomy and the birth of Jesus. Here is the link:

http://www.bpnews.net/BPnews.asp?ID=27085

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

