Happy Thanksgiving 2007

Posted on November 22, 2007. Filed under: Daily Journey |

Psalm 100:4-5 “Enter his gates with thanksgving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! 5 For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.”

When I stop to count my sins I realize that one of my dominant sins is failing to count my blessings and complaining about the blessings I have while coveting blessings I do not have. While the last year and a half has presented me and my family with numerous unwanted challenges, when all is said and done I am not in Iraq, I am not in a land that persecutes the Church, I am in decent health, I have a great family and a great church family, I have a job, we are not hungry. Most of all, I have God’s grace and the Holy Spirit himself indwelling me. I have no right nor any real cause to complain or grumble or covet.

Contentment, trust in the providence of God, and walking in the Spirit are all essential for giving thanks to God. I have been an expert at discontentment. I pray that I will learn to be content in the Lord and with the Lord’s blessings. I pray that I will grow in thanksgiving and thanksliving.

Here is a good article by Chuck Colson:

http://www.townhall.com/columnists/ChuckColson/2007/11/22/the_bounty_and_goodness_of_our_god

Here are some historical articles/websites for Thanksgiving:

http://www.history.com/minisite.do?content_type=Minisite_Generic&content_type_id=872&display_order=1&mini_id=1083

http://www.thanksgivingworld.com/thanksgiving-history.html

Here is Gov. William Bradford’s Thanksgiving Proclamation of 1623, followed by George Washington’s Proclamation and Lincoln’s Proclamation:

http://holydays.tripod.com/brad.htm

http://holydays.tripod.com/wash.htm

http://holydays.tripod.com/linc.htm

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Happy Thanksgiving 2007”

RSS Feed for Mark12ministries’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

I am thankful that you have started this blog space. Thank you for this particular blog as it convicts me big time. The humility shown here, helps me to see into myself and further past myself. Thank you.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

