A New Bloginning

Posted on November 20, 2007. Filed under: Uncategorized |

One of the interesting gifts we find in Christianity is the concept of starting over. There is the discussion between Jesus and Nicodemus in John 3 about the need for being born again, born from above, born of the Spirit. There is the healing of the leper in Mark 1 where a man who was unclean, a cast off from his society, is made whole and gets another chance at life by the cleansing power of Jesus. We see the paralytic of Mark 2 who is forgiven by the Lord, but then he is also healed. As he obeys the command of Jesus to “Rise, take up your bed and walk” he begins life again, inside and out, spiritually and physically. And after Peter’s disappointing denial of Christ in John 18, we see his restoration by Christ in John 21. Peter begins again.

The Lord has brought me to a point in my life of beginning again. This blog will be my second foray into the chaotic blogosphere, and will, I hope, facilitate my efforts at beginning again. The subject matter of the blog will be the Bible, theology, church history, a little bit of apologetics perhaps, and the news of the day- basically what God is doing in my life. I hope to perhaps be an encourager and receive some encouragement along the way.

Since I am a technophobe, schooled before computers were a part of daily life, I will be painfully slow in adding all the bells and whistles to this blog. It may be good entertainment as I struggle to learn simple things like Tags and Widgets!

Since this is Thanksgiving week I do want to spend a moment expressing gratitude. The Lord has brought my family out of a long desert experience into some green pastures beside the still waters. Our church, Christ the Redeemer Church (aka. Redeemer) in Fort Worth, has been a wonderful place for healing and beginning anew. I thank the Lord for our pastor Tim, elder Dale, worship leader Gary and all our new friends. Every Sunday is an exciting, humbling, joyfilled experience of seeking God in worship. I thank the Lord for my wife who has blossomed and matured and been of such tremendous help to me. I thank the Lord for my sons who have kept the faith and blessed our home. I thank the Lord for friends like Billy, Bob and Craig who have hung with me and  ministered to me, and allowed me to serve them as well. I thank the Lord for the servicemen and women, law enforcement folks and all the “spooks” who are protecting us at great cost. Most of all I thank Jesus for dying in my place on the cross, receiving the penalty for my sins so that I might receive the grace of God.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “A New Bloginning”

RSS Feed for Mark12ministries’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

Great Bryan! I’m looking forward to keeping up with your writings. I know that you are very capable of contributing in a profound way to the blogosphere. Ahh, yes, mark12ministries, I remember those days.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    This blog exists to study the bi-vocational ministry, explore the Bible & Theology, and look at current events, history and other world religions through scripture, and have fun doing it!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

